Rotator Cuff Tear Recovery

mmskiboat

• Members

So in March I injured my shoulder (fall on ice with arm out skating full speed on a lake and hit a air pocket) and due to Covid did not deal with it till now. I think that I have a tear in my supraspinatus and hope to have an MRI scheduled soon-ish.

Timing wise this has been hard as we just started getting into water skiing. I have been still able to ski as I'm still learning but cannot push much of that side.

I also to triathlon and has stopped my swimming and biking in the aero bars is not good. I'm 53.

I have read that surgery right after an acute injury is best but we are way beyond that now.

I will be starting physio this monday but wanted to know if other on this forum have has surgery or was physio enough?

• Baller
I tore mine a couple years ago in July. Nursed it for many months with no improvement. Surgery was in January and I was able to ski pretty normal by May. Feels stronger than ever. Get your MRI and get it repaired!

• Baller

depends on the grade of tear and age will be a factor. I have injured many of my RC tendons, dislocation, no surgery just physio and strength training and I'm stronger than ever but I'm over 10 years younger. I have only ever had an ultrasound and cortisone shot (once) so no real idea of how much of a tear I've had.

Not sure where you're located but there are some great orthopedic surgeons in Toronto. Dr. Abouali at Michael Garron hospital and Terry Axelrod at Sunnybrook who's a skier and treated many skiers over the years. I'm sure there are others, but these 2 are very well regarded. See if they can take a look at you once you get the MRI done. good luck

• Baller