Can only pick one: New Ski or Ski School?

Slalom.Steve

• Baller_

My budget dictates that for next year, I can either get a new ski, or go to a week of ski school, but not both. Which one would better help my progress as a skier?

I'm still learning the course, skiing 15off. I'm getting very consistent at 30mph, and making a little less than half my 32s. Feels like I'm progressing well. Here's video of me at 32mph (keep any technique discussion in that thread).

I'm currently on a 2016 67" Radar Vapor Lithium. I'm 5'10", 155-160lbs so the ski is a little oversized, but that's actually probably been good at slower speeds.

Despite my daydreams of a C85 or those sexy new 2022 Vapors... I'm 99.9% sure I know the answer for me right now: ski school, ski school, ski school. But I'm curious to see the discussion, and my brother and I have been debating: at what point would a new ski become the better choice? Like, how old does my ski have to get and/or how far down the line do I have to progress to where getting a new ski would be more beneficial than ski school in a given year?

Thanks!

• Supporting Member

Not a close call. Literally the only reason to buy a c85 right now is to evilly laugh at poor Adam Caldwell trying to build skis fast enough to meet demand after @Horton's review.

But the real answer is: Go to Trophy Lakes and learn from the c85 builder himself!

• Supporting Member

To answer the rest of your question:

I doubt there is a point where a new ski is a better performance-improving investment than working with a good coach, unless the ski has completely broken down. At 32/-15, that should take at least a decade.

Of course, new skis are FUN. Don't forget entertainment has real value.

• Baller_

Alright, answers as expected :)