'95 Nautique prop upgrade suggestions

LOTW

• Baller

It's got low hours and I've always wanted to try a 4 blade or?? I would hope that I would get better performance, nothing really wrong with it now, and maybe a better wake. Very few, none, options to try and test around here so I would have to buy one and be stuck with it. Anyone who has had one of these have any suggestions? It's got the ProBoss GT ford 351 EFI, closed bow196, everything is stock.

Maybe someone has a prop for sale?

Edited by LOTW

• Baller

I think the ACME 422 is the best prop for that boat. I'm not an expert, so hopefully others confirm or deny. I had one on my 1994 Ski Nautique. Previous owner put it on. I don't know what the 3 blade prop was like.

• Baller

Definitely go with the four blade.  I had a ‘95 and even my wife noticed how much smoother the boat ran when we put the four blade on it.  I don’t recall if I ever used an OJ prop to give you that model number, but the ACME 422 was great. 

• Baller

For my 94 Sport I went with the OJ428 which I've read is very similar to the Acme 422 but a little more robust. Since there is a chance of bumping into things here and there where I'm at it made sense. If you have no risk of anything ever hitting the prop then the 422 will be fine. 

• Like 1

• Baller
4 hours ago, LOTW said:

@MDB1056ya, I just didn't know what I was looking for.

The CRAPPY thing is that by the time I get a new one to Canada it'll be $1000.00+

Bought my 515 last year from PocoMarine in BC, best deal I found within Canada and they were great to do business with. 664$ CAD:
https://www.pocomarine.com/shop/acme-422-propeller-12-5-x-15-5x1-rh-4-blade/

There is also one used from a boat dealer in Quebec, 260$ CAD:
https://pomerleaulesbateaux.com/en-CA/accessories/acme-4320181010/

• Baller

Gee, $260.00 is the right price for a potentially 30 year-old prop but used is always risky, what do you guys think?