Ski Storage on Boat

101driver

• Baller

I am looking for good ideas to solve my ski storage on my boat. The wakeboarders stick 4 boards out on the tower which clears the boat. I don't have a tower. I can get one ski in each side pocket of my 1997 prostar 190. Two pairs of jump ski's in the front locker and then I am tripping over 3rd slalom ski and a couple of trick ski's. We are planning on a ski holiday next summer where we will be out all day every day with no dock to dump gear on, just skiing off the boat. There has to be a better way of storing ski's in the side or front locker or somehow so they don't clash together and can be easily accessible. I am an engineer with access to metal machining and wood shop so I can make some thing just need some inspiration as to what! Any Ideas appreciated.

• Baller

I've seen a flyhigh ski pole extension with a set of racks bolted to it, then the rope is just attached to a d ring just above normal ski pole level 

If you can machine, then it's just a 1/8th ali tube that slots over the pole, then cut out and reinforce around to keep access to the original rope mount and allow for rope swing.

• Baller

Honestly more storage/space was one of the bigger reasons I upgraded from my 1989 ProStar. Loved that boat but as the kids were getting bigger and wanted to bring friends & more gear, we were getting really cramped. Being a course skier I did not want to take a step backward in wake. As I enjoy footing and wakeboarding as well as slalom & trick, I found the 1999+ Malibu Response LX fit my needs very well. The trunk can hold a boom, skylon and several skis, and can even get a surprising amount of stuff under the passenger seat even with the open bow. If you're gonna stick with the MC then definitely build a custom rack off the pylon. I contemplated doing that on my MC before switching. Good luck!

• Baller