Start of Season FIX

• Baller

32 off / 34 mph

I've had this same problem forever, but I've been working hard to fix it for three years will little success. I've read everything, listened to the podcasts, had excellent instruction and I can't seem to whip this: 

My inside arm separates from my body at the pre-turn.

Before the season starts and I read again all the techniques and instruction posts, listen to the podcasts and watch all the videos again, I was wondering if anyone has a fresh perspective on how to focus on staying with the handle instead of having to make the perfect turn each time because I've given myself no wiggle room. 

• Administrators

@travtitle

After watching your video I have good news and bad news.

The good news is that your issue is easy to diagnose. The bad news is your issue is one that a lot of skiers struggle to fix.

The problem is not that your handle is moving off your hips. The problem is that your hips are behind your feet.

The traditional coaching phrases are something like “keep your hips up”, “drive your knees forward”, “push the handle down” or “Suck less”.  If you are old enough you were likely relentlessly told to bend your knees as a key rule of water skiing. None of this is categorically wrong.

The reality is unless you are a uniquely talented athlete, more than a little knee bend will move your hips back and once your hips are not aligned with your shoulders and feet you are basically a victim of the boat.  

I have written about a lot.

6. Most skiers who do not run 32 off do not have a good “stacked position”. “Stacked” is shoulders over hips and hips over feet. If you are not stacked almost anything else you work on is a waste of time and gas.