Feasibility of 3D printing custom VersaTail

• Baller

Would the lower weight of nylon and carbon fiber compared to metal lead to poor balance of the ski? Looking to attempt to  make some custom tails but before, I want to ensure it won't be a waste of time. Want to experiment with shape, but more so possibly a longer tail to lengthen total ski. Also I'm unsure if the nylon the piece will be made from will flex too much under pressure and bend or snap. Thoughts?

• Like 1

• Baller

You would need to use a material that withstand the pressure and most importantly the sun heat. Definitely don’t use PLA or PETg. They might coop with the pressure if not over tightened, but heat… they won’t cut it…

• Baller

@Hortonhaha good to know, dont ask me how I thought the Versa Tails I have been using for 2+ years were metal.... not plastic. 🤦‍♂️

@JPeckhamwould you or nick be willing to share the digital models of your VersaTails? I dont have prior experience with Computer Aided Design, but thought I might as well use the 3D printing resources my university provides.

And any recommendations of material to use from the following: PLA, PETG, PVA, TPU, SLA "resin", NinjaFlex, Nylon, Photopolymer resin, and Onyx (a mixture of Nylon and Carbon Fiber). There's also fiber reinforcement: Fiberglass, Kevlar, Carbon Fiber.

The goal of this is to have some fun and experiment mainly with getting my 67 to ski more like a 68. LMK if there are previous threads with info on this- couldn't find any. 

Thanks

• Administrators

@jerseysfinest This should be a fun project and a learning experience but be aware that you will never make a 67 ski feel like the 68 inch version of the same ski by changing the tail.

• Baller
47 minutes ago, Horton said:

@jerseysfinest This should be a fun project and a learning experience but be aware that you will never make a 67 ski feel like the 68 inch version of the same ski by changing the tail.