One Legged Skier

RB

Hello all,

Longtime lurker, new poster. 

My current ski driver/ski partner has one leg: His right. Nothing below the knee on the left, nor even a left thigh muscle.

We've been skiing together only this summer. At first he was reluctant to attempt the course, however, after one time he's now hooked. He can make cuts on both sides with confidence.

My reason for posting is, any and all advice from those who have skied with or coached one legged skiers is requested. 

Clearly there are some balance issues that cannot be overcome. We are making progress, he's at 1 1/2 balls at 15 off, 28 mph. He's dieing to make 2 ball, his really off side.

I've been trying to figure out how to help his overall weight distribution problem and was wondering if you think it makes sense to add some weight to where the back foot would normally be? Or just keep at it from a technique perspective.

• Supporting Member

To be clear: I have NO actual experience related to this.

But I would *think* you'd want to move the binding closer to the middle of where the two bindings would have been.  To me that would make a lot more sense than adding weight to the ski, since that would presumably also make it harder to turn.

But anyhow, there should be some folks who have done this and run a lot of buoys, so finding them seems to be your best bet.  I know USA Waterski has a formal disabled division.

• Baller

Are prosthetics an option?

Don Priest in central CA is a double amputee, talented skier and I heard he was in the prosthetic design and manufacturing business. It's been a long time since I've seen him but he might be a good contact.

I would not add weight to the ski. Move the bindings - huge amounts - to change the balance. Try a shorter ski, hardshells lots of stuff. OK even weights - that might be easiest but be sure the bouyancy is considered.

I trick on one foot a lot. Powerful edges both ways are possible one footed. Keep working at it!

Eric

• Baller