What is best for beginner: INT or USA GrassRoots (f)

I5boi

So along with all of the chatter about existing and new rules and getting new competitors involved, what is a better event to enter for a complete newbie?

The USA website has almost too much info to confuse a newbie and the website probably needs a complete overhaul (IMO). The grassroots type F looks to be a good place to start and there appears to be many events to attend in our area. Would this be a good option for a 40 yr old? All the pictures are of little kids that will probably kick my a**.

INT has a much better website that as a newbie, I can understand. Oregon isn't currently active but Wa State is and it's many of the same places for USA so location doesn't appear to matter much.

So which format/sanctioning body is better for the beginner. I'm looking just for slalom and have no course experience and little understanding of all rules/by laws, etc. Which format gets the most water time and friendly instruction about all things one needs to know? Which will be a better long term solution to start with if I end up doing for many years to come?

• Baller_

we have a number of AWSA events in WA state that have added slalom groups for beginners. Look for a class "N" or "F" in conjunction with the class C event. At our Broho tournies, we tow the novice group between rounds, guarantee them 4 passes per round with a drop at each end, and reduce the entry fee as well. Here's a couple links :

http://www.usawaterski.org/rankings/View-TournamentsHQ.asp?pvar=TourInfo&TourID=14W082&olrds=enabled&rg=1&sl=on&tr=on&ju=on&wb=&ws=&wu=&bf=&kb=&hy=&sExclude=

http://www.usawaterski.org/rankings/View-TournamentsHQ.asp?pvar=TourInfo&TourID=14W104&olrds=enabled&rg=1&sl=on&tr=on&ju=on&wb=&ws=&wu=&bf=&kb=&hy=&sExclude=

send me a PM and I can give you more info

• Administrators

@I5boi