Cost to put in a slalom course?

MitchellM

• Baller

I would like to put in a slalom course on Lake Agnes in Polk City, Florida.  The lake has an average depth of 10 feet and has several spots that seem suitable.  My neighbor tells me there were two courses on the lake in the past that his sons used when they were competing.  I am new to the lake and just learning the topography.

This is a 377 acre public lake.  I presume I would need some sort of permit?  Any idea of the cost to put in a permanent course?  How do I select the best location and orientation?

I have considered a portable Insta-Slalom course, but I am hesitant about the time and effort required to put the course in place and remove.  Plus, I only have my malibu LXI which is less than ideal for installing these portable courses.

Call out to Jon Travers has been sent already, but I was curious about the collective wisdom here.

• Baller

I have zero knowledge of permitting a slalom course in Florida. I would think a Google search would provide  information. It’s probably under the jurisdiction of the Dept. of Natural Resources, or whatever it’s known as in Florida. You may also have to get signatures from a certain percentage of the lake property owners. The fact that there were courses on the lake in the past, may help your chances for approval.

Does your neighbor know if the old courses were permanent? If they were, the anchors may still be in place. If you do go the portable/cable type route, you don’t have remove it, once installed, unless you’re only able to get permission for a course that must be removed when not in use. Jon Travers, obviously is an excellent source for all things slalom courses. Good luck!

• Baller_