Possibly building a lake - taking suggestions!

jipster43

• Baller

I've been mulling over the idea of building a ski lake for about 25 years now and I'm finally getting a little closer to diving in. I already have the property and I'm now considering all the possible methods for the dig and design.

The land is flat, runs North to South and has clay pretty close to the surface. There's a spring on the property, but it sits about 60 feet below from where the lake will be dug, so unless I get real lucky and find ground water, I'm assuming I'll probably have to dig a well and pump the water in.

I'd like to know what any of you folks out there like to see in a ski lake. What features seem to work the best i.e., length, width, depth, shape, shore line ratio, etc. Should I allow for a jump ramp? I don't jump and can't see myself ever doing so.

My personal favorite lake is Greg Tate's (Tate Lake) in Othello, WA. You can check it out with the BOS Google Earth app.

I'd love to hear what y'all think - especially if you know of ways to do it on the cheap!

• Baller

@ Klondike - The property is about an hour North of Billings, MT. My family homesteaded there in 1911 and haven't done much with the land since the 1930's. I'd love to relocate it closer to Bozeman! The three hour drive has been one of the big hiccups in my plans, but it's actually 1,000 feet lower than Bozeman and has much better weather from March to July.

@AB - The lake I currently ski at has no turn islands, but when I ski at lakes that do, I really enjoy the extra setup time. I've considered offsetting them enough that you can avoid using them if you want to. Thanks for the input though! That's definitely one of the options I've been debating.

• Baller
The main lake I rotate with is 2400' so we just stop to the right of the island. There is enough room to swing out and shorten the rope. We do the same on a 1850' lake too. Maybe if we were going 36 we would use them on that lake.

• Baller