Teak Platform Refinishing

tfriess

• Baller

Hello all. I have a newly purchased '05 196 and the teak platform needs a refinish job. Not sure if I should have this done professionally or not but I know that it can easily be done on your own. Never redone one but I'm wondering if someone could walk me through what to do on this as I have about 0 knowledge on this. Not sure if there is another thread on this or not. Also, there is a bit of a light green on the underside of the platform so not sure if this plays a role in it. Thanks much.

Tfriess

• Baller
@tfriess, I have a lot of experience in the painting and staining world. It is a really simple process. First get some 110 grit sand paper and sand the teak down until it is down to bare wood. Next, use 220 grit and get is smooth, like a baby's bottom. Now you are ready to apply the teak stain, not teak oil. I simply rub it in with a rag, making sure you rub it in generously. Since you are applying a stain into the wood, there is no need to sand in between coats. After you rub it in, let it dry completely, and then repeat 5 to 6 times. Make sure you get the underside, the side that is always in the water. Finally, I would apply a non-slippery water-repellent sealer. After the first coat of sealer, give it a light sand and then apply a second coat. You should be good for the season and then next fall, do the whole process over again. Congrats on you boat......Awesome choice for an awesome guy!!

• Baller
@tfriess I don't know the name of the stuff I use, but do not use a polyurethane. On my 197 I bought last summer, the dumb ass had it coated in polyurethane and it was slipperier than ice! Everyone who skied on my boat this last fall went down the first time they stepped out on the deck. I was literally sanding for an entire weekend to get the crap off!! Go to a professional paint store, like Kwal-Howells and they will hook you up.

• Baller