Acceleration

Deep11

• Baller

Acceleration

If you are still working out how to align and stack correctly then you should probably look away now.

There are many ways to run the course and most of the guys on here are in the "lock and load" category. I have been doing this for a few years (largely to perfect my stack) and it is (as it should be) a default position when things go wrong. I can run 14 and 13 all day long this way. 12 works as well, but less so, and then a few at 11.

At this time of the season I am setting goals and happy to deconstruct in order to ultimately move on.

This year I want to learn to accelerate properly, or at least see if I can.

Explanation: If you turn the ball and hook up in perfect alignment (stack), all acceleration will now come from the boat and any additional "lean" you put in (which you probably shouldn't as this increases drag also). In other words you can't introduce any additional acceleration. With this approach characteristically the "load" is applied into and through both wakes with a later edge change.

To be clear this is a great way to ski I just want to see if I can do it another way.

The alternative is when the boat starts to pull, you are NOT in your perfect stack position (in relation to the boat and pylon) but in a place that allows you to accelerate the ski under the rope (and ultimately behind the handle). The stack comes during this process, at just the right moment. As a result skiing this way the load comes on really early and the edge change is happening from before the first wake.

What I would like to know, from those who ski this way, is if they have any tips on how to get there, the "feel" they are looking for and any "visual" clues/goals (such as looking to shore/down the bouy line etc).

The skiers that I see really showing this are:

Nate, Seth, CP, Marcus Brown, TW

I realise that this may be quite an advanced topic, but don't think I qualify to post there just yet :(

Thanks in advance.