Beginner looking to buy first slalom ski - not sure where to start

hbfs

Hello all,

I am a beginner level water skiier who learned to water ski last summer and instantly fell in love with the sport. This summer I am working towards a goal of learning to slalom and have started shopping for my first ski. I've found an overwhelming amount of information and options, and frankly, I just don't know where to start. I apologize for the sheer amount of questions; I am just slightly clueless and very eager to learn.

Some basics: I am age 22, 5'8'', 140 lbs, and my budget including bindings is $500. I have no problem with buying used or demos. I generally free ski at 28-31, but boat speed has generally just been left to whatever the boat driver feels comfortable towing a new skiier at. I can get up fine on one ski but currently I am a bit of a ways off from being able to run the course.

First, what size ski should I be looking at? And what speed does one usually start to learn the course at?

Next, I have taken a look at Ski-It-Again but the options are overwhelming. What ski materials and model years should I be looking at in my price range? Are there any popular models you would recommend that I keep an eye out for? With my budget and inexperience, would it be recommended to demo newer models of skis I'm interested in as a point of reference, or should I not worry too much about it?

Any insightful answers or tips would be hugely appreciated. Thank you for your patience.

• Baller_

The Radar P6 is a great learning ski for the course. You can start at slower speeds which I highly recommend. 24-28mph. Size wise I am not sure. 65". Not sure if they make a 64". It is basically a wider ski with high end ski like charactoristcs and design. You can get a full new set up boots and all for way less then $500. Used for under $200.