Forgetting to shorten the rope ?

• Supporting Member

I'd say it's hard to get through an entire tournament day without either a wrong length or wrong speed happening once.

As a boat judge, I set and check it. As a driver, I verify it. If I have a radio, I announce it.

All of that helps, but isn't enough to absolutely 100% prevent a wrong rope length or speed.

• Baller
If you judge ,drive , or ski enough tournaments you will be the giver or reciever at least once. And with ZBS now it could be the scorer as well. Just remember if you are the reciever it wasn't intentional...

• Baller
I've seen wrong score, and as a driver come dangerously close to giving the wrong speed but caught it just in time. As said above, at the end of a long day in the boat all it takes is a distraction at the right moment and it leaves you open for error. It doesn't matter how many safety checks you put in place, there will always be room for one of those.

• Baller

We are all human. I've been both the giver and receiver over the years. My worst offense was as the boat judge at a Big Dawg stop where I forgot to shorten the rope while I was also trying to handle some of my tournament director duties on the radio. I felt awful. Fortunately, it didn't affect the skier and he still made the H2H rounds. Since then, I have learned to pace myself on the officiating side of tournaments and don't try to bite off too much.

There was a Water Ski Mag article a few years ago where they interviewed several senior judges and asked them about their worst gaffs. It was an interesting read. Unfortunately, gaffs occur at all levels within our sport. We have to remember that all the officials are volunteers that are trying to get it right. Unfortunately, sh*t happens.

• Baller