Scoring/Rankings

501Brandon

If a fella goes to a tournament that is outside his home region, will it count toward his rankings/score for eligibility for the regional within his region? I am sure this is in the books somewhere but I didnt see it or I didnt understand it... There are a few events pretty close to yet some are in the Southern region, so if I ski over there how does that effect me in regards to eligibility toward the SC Regional? I want to go to as many events as I can but especially all those within a couple hour drive.

Thanks again, I am still trying to learn the details for AWSA competition (at least for skiing) so I may ask some silly questions from time to time. I have been skiing with the INT side pretty much my entire slalom life so I am a rookie when it comes to AWSA competition.

• Baller
Have to be somewhat careful. The scores will count, but if you only ski events in the south, you would have to ski the south regionals. Whatever regional you ski the majority of your events in, is the region that you ski regionals in. Skiers that train and ski 80% of the time in FL and live in MI can not go and compete in the MW regionals for placement. There are exceptions for out of area skiers to ski in another region, but it is not for placement.

@ntx, thanks as well for that input. I set a couple goals for this year in which may be a little silly to some of you guys but I really want to get my scores up enough to be eligible for the SC Regional (Goal #1). I can ski to the level I need to qualify during practice but I have very little tournament experience here at AWSA level so nerves really had me last year. I have no complaints about my skiing considering where I started out at in the spring of 2011. I have always looked at Regionals and Nationals as a somewhat unattainable goal however I do see it possible this year if I can find enough tournaments between now and the cutoff that dont require a 8-12 hour drive.

• Supporting Member