Suggestions for Multi Purpose boat?

sb_dc_mbs_13

So my family is looking into getting a new boat. We've always had an I/O on our public lake. The past four years I have been spoiled skiing collegiate tournaments and getting to ski behind some great boats.

Since we don't have a course on our lake and I am the only one that is into tournament skiing, a pure ski boat is out of the question.

We are definitely looking at inboards now, but a direct drive is also out of the question since my family "doesn't like the engine in the middle of the boat"

So basically what I'm looking for are some suggestions for multi sport boats that I can still ski behind at 34/36 mph without killing myself while coming across the wake when free skiing.

Thanks

• Baller
I'm no expert on all the boats out there but if I wanted the boat you're describing I'd be looking for a Malibu Sunsetter XTI. It's still a center engine boat but has a really cool wrap around seat layout. A ski buddy of mine owns an 04, we've used it on vacation a few times over the years. It skiis really well for it's size, has plenty of room, find one with the wedge and go wakeboarding. Not sure how long they built that model.

• Baller_

I own a '08 211, very good all around boat wake is pretty hefty @ 30mph but once you get above that it gets a lot better.

My 211 has quite a bit of spray if the boat isn't sitting perfectly level, something to think about if you get a chance to test one.

If you can get into a 200v it is a much better wake for slalom.

Our club has a SN200 and obviously those wakes are great, but I haven't really posted better scores behind that boat compared to mine. Skiing behind the 211 is just a lot more work than the SN200.

My pb is only 3@34mph 15off, so take that into account

• Baller

Do you still have the I/O?