Whats the rule for failing a deep water start in a tournament

swbca

• Baller_

Driver error is basically your only option for another attempt at your deep water start. The driver would essentially accept responsibility for somehow not applying the throttle correctly or otherwise affecting your start (boat turned, line not tight at throttle up, dragging the skier excessively before throttling up, etc.).

As a driver, I have called "driver error" on myself a few times. Typically, it has been with very young kids or elderly skiers who require a specific throttle management to avoid overpowering them.

The worst slalom equipment I own is between my ears.

• Baller_
When the M7 or M8 skier lost the handle getting up for his first pass, I was afraid it was the end. I didn't know why he got a second try but was relieved he did. Getting to the Nationals is a "long" trip for every amatuer skier. What a way to end

• Baller
And what happens if the skier makes the entrance/exit gates and all 6 balls but falls and loses the handle during his pull out to drop at the end of the pass? Come on, we've all done that at least once, right?

• Baller_

Re jjackkrach comment about mud. If there was an unexpected obstruction in the water outside the course like in the turn-around area that affected a skier, I imagine the "Unfair Conditions" rule would be applied to permit the skier to resume . . it wouldn't be a "rerun" but could be applied to permit the skier to continue.

5e34yq135655.png

• Baller

I've missed a couple in tournaments. Of course they were all class C, but they were always accommodating. I was however quickly corrected when I started to apologize. The driver jumped in and said it was their fault.

I'm not sure if I qualify as the "elderly" that @MISkier referred to, but I can pop a handle pretty easily if overpowered.

• Baller